Look Back

I’m one of those people who loves New Year’s resolutions. I love looking ahead, capturing a vision, dreaming, setting goals.

But this year God’s nudging me in another direction. Rather than looking ahead, he’s inviting me to look back. To begin 2012 with gratitude.

Will you join me?

“It is a good thing to give thanks to the LORD” (Psalm 92:1, ESV). It is a good so often neglected.

“Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly . . . singing to God with gratitude in your hearts” (Colossians 3:16, NIV). It is a spiritual song that can well up within us . . . if we choose to nurture it.

So I pause to say I am grateful. Grateful for life. For breath. For health. For family. For friends. For shelter. For resources. For opportunities. For love. For God.

This January, join me in pondering, practicing, and learning from God about gratitude.

One response to “Look Back

  1. I was just thinking about this as I read many blogs about the “word” for 2012. I can’t think that far ahead but I often can look back and see a theme through the past year. My word for 2011 was “listen” as one who uses words, it was humbling and invaluable.

Leave a Reply

