Sorting Clothes . . . unto the Lord?

I find it highly ironic that I’ve been so busy with “daily drudgery” and other work that I’ve neglected the blog this week. I feel the only thing of value I can offer right now, in this moment, is to say heartily and with the little gusto I can muster that service can be exhausting!

I don’t believe it is healthy to regularly live beyond our physical limits or to pack every minute of time with commitments. (See a posting I wrote about that here.) However, there are times when God calls us to step into an intense schedule of service: service through our vocation (job), through caring for families (meals, cleaning, budgeting, and so on), and all other sorts of service. This week has been one of those intense weeks for me, particularly in terms of my paid work.

So this has been a week in which I cling to Ephesians 6:7, and I offer it to you for your own encouragement as well: “Work with enthusiasm, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.”

I’m so glad for this reminder that the week-long task I’ve been working on of sorting out the children’s clothes (what to donate, what to store in the attic, what no longer fits)–yes, even THAT task can be service done unto Christ.

One response to “Sorting Clothes . . . unto the Lord?

  1. Thanks so much for this post, Kelli! After a long, exhausting day of work/family life, I was ready to fall into bed with a bad attitude. This was such a great reminder of our true purpose. What a wonderful verse to help change my focus and mood.

Leave a Reply

