Help for “the Talk”

I have a strong memory of the first time I got a somewhat detailed explanation of sex from my parents. As a first grader who’d heard the F-word for the first time, I came home and blatantly asked my mom, “Mom, what does (bleep!) mean?” Without blinking, my mom calmly explained the very, very basics of the birds & the bees to me. She explained why the F-word was a bad word without making me feel ashamed for asking about it. She gave me a general understanding of God’s plan for sex. It was simple, to the point, and gave me just the right amount of info.

Now as a mom myself, I’m floored by how well my mother handled the situation. I think I’d probably choke if my first grader came home and asked me that question! Though I want my kids to be informed about sexuality/reproduction (to an age-appropriate degree), I’ve felt entirely unprepared to talk about it. The idea of an actual conversation with my kids made me feel nervous and embarrassed.

But the other day my problems were solved. I received 2 great books in the mail written by my friend Jim Burns: How God Makes Babies (for 6 to 9 year olds) and God Made Your Body (for 3 to 5 year olds). These books are designed to help kids develop a healthy sense of their God-given sexuality from an early age — and they’re great! Fantastic photos, cool design, and age-appropriate explanations that give the right amount of info (not too much and not too little). They’re great tools for getting the conversation started and I definitely recommend them to other moms who, like me, may feel intimidated about tackling this very important subject.

One response to “Help for “the Talk”

  1. Thanks for the tips! With a baby on the way, we’ve had some talks…I just worry the biology major in me makes me TOO blunt! 🙂 It’d be nice to have a counter balance. 🙂

Leave a Reply

